Company overview

About SAFPA National

The South African Funeral Practitioners Association (SAFPA) was started more than 18 years ago by predominantly black funeral undertakers who were previously disadvantaged.

The Association has built its reputation on assisting, coaching and supporting inexperienced, existing and aspiring funeral undertakers and its owners towards well-functioning businesses being part of one big SAFPA family.

We work hard within the profession to promote best practice and protect the interests of our members and their local communities. Along with representing the views of our members at a national and local level we also provide training and education programmes to ensure they continue to meet the highest of standards.


  • An honorary member shall be elected by the NEC and shall be restricted to individuals who in the opinion of the NEC have rendered significant and invaluable service to SAFPA.
  • They shall enjoy all the privileges of ordinary members. An honorary member shall automatically become a member of the Veterans Committee that advises the NGC and NEC.


Associate or Corporate Members may only be admitted if they comply with those standards as laid down from time to time by the NEC and are either:

  • Manufacturers or distributors of funeral requisites;
  • Representatives of overseas or neighbouring states manufacturers or distributors of funeral requisites.
  • The membership shall have to be renewed every year, with the approval of the NEC.
  • Overseas and neighbouring states funeral practitioners.


Full member may only be admitted if he/she satisfies the criteria. He/she must:

  • Be in possession of all licenses required by law
  • Occupy premises from where activities of a permanent nature are carried out
  • Be capable of complying with those requirements regarding equipment and services which may be deemed adequate by the NEC.
  • A prospective member who does not comply with all requirements shall be subjected to a compliance programme decided upon by the PEC of the constituent province.

Become a member today. Join Now